Mirror, Mirror For My Face, Are These Things You Can Erase?

January 5, 2011 § Leave a comment

German playwright, poet and novelist, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe once wrote, “Behavior is the mirror in which everyone shows their image.” If this is true, then the preoccupation with one’s appearances is a sign of insecurity, a lack of confidence. I’m certainly not saying that I’m free of insecurities regarding my looks because god knows I’m full of them. I’m merely commenting on the general obsession with mirrors. In all honesty, I’ve never quite understood the need for women to carry compact mirrors with them.

I purchased this blue covergirl fresh complexion pocket powder at a local drug store several years ago. My color match is 610, classic ivory. I used this compact to hide my poor complexion from the world. Though I have no reason to suspect it, for all I know it actually made my skin worse–the more I used the more I needed it. I’ve since given up the brand in lieu of organic products. I still don’t have the skin I want.

But I digress. What do you do with the brilliant blue compact mirror when the actual product is gone? Can you throw a mirror away without being cursed with seven years bad luck?

Suspicions have surrounded reflective surfaces for forever, when water was used instead of our modern-day mirror. Many believed that one’s reflection was ultimately connected to the soul or the fate of viewer, and that any distortion would point to their death. Preposterous, yes? Visions of Greek Mythology come to mind as Narcissus peers into pool, he falls in love with his reflection. Transfixed, he wastes away to his ultimate demise.

There’s even an ancient superstition that the mirrors in the house where a person has died must be covered or those who peer in could become possessed by the soul of the recently deceased. If the Bronte sisters had been aware of that little superstition, it might have brought a new dimension to Cathy’s words when she exclaimed, “I am Heathcliff!”

The point is, mirrors in themselves don’t create mischief or harm on our lives. However, I’ll be so bold as to say that mirrors promote vanity or fear/insecurity when used in the wrong way. So, goodbye, little blue mirror. Thank you for assisting me with my personal insecurities for a time. Now you’re going in the trash.


Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mirror, Mirror For My Face, Are These Things You Can Erase? at jettison2011.

meta

