…Well, What Is It?

January 10, 2011 § 6 Comments

Rule of thumb, ladies and gentlemen, if you’re trying on a new garment and wouldn’t have the faintest idea how to describe it verbally, chances are it’s a mistake to buy it. That’s certainly the case with this poor excuse for a.. well, what is it?

Liberally personified, this top would either be a very fickle child or a poor wretch suffering from a glaring case of multiple personality disorder. Is it a dress or a top?  Does the top go with the bottom? What color is it? Any way you look at it, it’s perfectly hideous and I’m happy to say that since I bought it circa 1999, I’ve never made the mistake of wearing it beyond my front door.

As it languished in my closet for the past 12 years, sneering at me from the regular line-up, I would have two typical reactions:

1) *Winces* “I can’t even bring myself to take it out of my closet. How can I get rid of it? What was I thinking?”

2) “Perhaps it will serve as a good Halloween costume at some point in time.”

The problem with reaction #1 is that there is no shame when it comes to throwing something away no matter how awful. I’ve seen the show Hoarders. I know what’s out there. Here I am today posting it here for all friends, family, acquaintances, fellow bloggers and complete strangers for all to see. I consider it part of the healing process though I doubt anyone truly gets over a mistake this epic.

The problem with reaction #2 is that if you can’t possibly see what sort of Halloween costume this could possibly serve, then it’s just a bloody excuse.

To Goodwill you go. May some brave individual who has a more visionary mind than I have better use (or better luck) with it.

 

 

§ 6 Responses to …Well, What Is It?

  • starbear says:

    Go Sarah. Too Funny.

  • iamsarahk says:

    You could put tomato sauce on it and say use it as a zombie pixie costume… and lets say the zombie pixie threw up on the tress (top/dress)
    🙂 good writing 😀

  • Dedric says:

    I for one like it. Maybe that’s the hippy in me though.

  • Mimm says:

    Ok. That’s just cruel. Now I’m going to have to go through my closet and find what dregs I may have hanging around circa 1999 (when I partied like it was). In the meantime, I have a question: since you’re ridding your life of 365 pieces of flotsam, one day at a time, what are you going to do to avoid filling the vacuum you’re creating?

  • Found this through the blog buddy post…. we don’t have too much in common, well maybe we’re both trying to lose something 🙂 Anyway, what a great idea to get rid of 365 things in 365 days! I am subscribing, can’t wait to read more.

  • SweetB says:

    Love your blog! I found it through the buddy blog thingy and it’s just great. I am in some serious need of throwing out stuff too so maybe your work will motivate me!

    Margie
    http://sweetbblog.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading …Well, What Is It? at jettison2011.

meta

