I’m No Palahniuk

January 11, 2011 § 3 Comments

The English noun Choker, has four common definitions, courtesy of dictionary.com. Tonight I will, for lack of better memories associated with this preteen purchase, explore all four.

1. a person or thing that chokes.

Currently, in Philadelphia this is a topic of particular sensitivity. This morning the body of a woman was found in an abandoned building in Kensington. Currently, authorities are attempting to verify whether or not this is related to the ‘Kensington Strangler,’ as the media has coined him. He’s already claimed the lives to three women in the area under the age of 40. Read more from AOL contributor, David Lohr.

2. a necklace that fits snugly around the neck.
Indeed this is the item to be given away today. I believe I will offer it to my cousin’s daughter to use for dress up. I would wear it, but I’ve been allergic to certain types of metals for years. Wearing this for a day would result in a rash-like imprint that is not so fashionable.

3. a neckcloth or high collar.
A standard ‘tie’ is what we would call them today. However, they used to be much more elaborate. I can just see a working professional of today messing around with one of these in the morning.
image courtesy of Regency Reproductions.
4. a chain or cable used to haul logs from the woods.

Pretty self-explanatory I should think.  So I will leave you with something that I cherish dearly…

§ 3 Responses to I’m No Palahniuk

  • harmamae says:

    Yes, I certainly collected quite a number of choker necklaces as a preteen as well! Maybe it’s time to sort those out…

  • starbear says:

    Interesting. I live in logging country and have not heard that term here. Learn something new everyday! LOL!
    Now I would like a phonetic spelling please. 🙂
    The logging vid – made me choke w/ laughter. We have a Woodchoppers Ball here every spring… No RCMPs – just lumberjacks and ladies dressed up in their best suspenders and dancing to fiddlers…
    Thanks to you, I jettisoned two items today!

  • Rachelle says:

    I adore your blog, Sarah. What a great way to make purging the clutter fun! I find both blogging and purging clutter very therapeutic. You have found a way to combine both! Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m No Palahniuk at jettison2011.

meta

