I Ran Like a Girl

January 22, 2011 § Leave a comment

This is the sort of clutter that I want to get rid of. My new rule for sentimental items:  If no one other than myself can recognize any significance to the item, it’s getting pitched overboard.

“Girls 9 Nine” is not code for anything. This 3×5 index card was handed to me after a high school cross-country race for coming in the top 10. Like a ticket stub, I kept it for sentimental reasons. When I found it in my drawer this afternoon I had to ask myself, “Do I remember the specific race?” No, though I think it was a home race, I’ll never really know. There is no point in keeping it as I’ve decided to keep my first jersey and several photographs to commemorate my time spent on the team. And plus, I’m not sure I want to remember coming in 9th place or running like a ‘girl.’

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Ran Like a Girl at jettison2011.

meta

