Rumpled Sockskins

January 26, 2011 § 1 Comment

Speaking of the laundry gnome that came up on Monday’s post, I couldn’t help but be reminded of the Brother’s Grimm for their wonderful portrayals of ghastly, horrible creatures. They’re terribly unsuitable for children which is why they’re great! How would the Brother’s portray this modern-day sock elf, as my dear friend, ‘starbear’ refers to them? I imagine it would look a lot like Rumpelstiltskin who would only work for socks. I would have tons of currency for this fine fellow.

Here’s the ‘Shrek’ version of the Rumpler, courtesy of Pixar. I have to say, I always imagined him to be much more like the crypt keeper.

After a rotten day full of snow, a missed interview (I was present, the interviewer was not) and a ill-fated shopping trip, I am literally hearing very ominous thunder in the dead of winter. I could pull a sockskins right now and stamp through the floor.

§ One Response to Rumpled Sockskins

  • starbear says:

    Oh… I think they are kindly cute and funny… just a wee bit mischievous…
    They weren’t named Grimm for no reason… LOL!
    Thunder? Have you ever had snow lightning?
    Hope your day is looking up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rumpled Sockskins at jettison2011.

meta

