Sockday

January 30, 2011 § Leave a comment

It seems Sundays have become sockdays. When I woke up this morning I decided to clean out my clothes closet in the bedroom of my apartment. And what did I find? More mismatched socks! I must be cursed.

I always dread cleaning up clothes. I always have. I don’t think I ever had any particularly traumatic experiences while picking up my room. It’s just the last thing I want to do with my time with a million other things on my agenda. So I let it get worse and worse until it feels like a significant effort to reorganize the space.

With my busy schedule and my lack of a good organizational system, my clothes end up strewn about the bedroom as if a cyclone had hit it. I feel like I’m similar to the Warner Brother’s Tasmanian Devil, leaving a trail of chaos in my path.

Is this is a feminine phenomena? Of course, I do reserve the right, as a lady, to change my mind and it seems I practice it on a daily basis. “This shirt doesn’t match.” “I look fat in this skirt today.” “That simply doesn’t look right.” At the end of my morning rush, the victims of my capricious dressing lay lifeless on the bed, bedside table, and let’s face it, the floor. The weekend becomes the time to nurse the soldiers back to health by way of laundry, ironing, folding and stowing.

I’m resolving to fix it. And those of you who may also have this problem, I’m asking you to join me. Everyday this week I will lay out my clothes for the next day before I go to bed in an attempt to reform my disorganized habits.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sockday at jettison2011.

meta

