“Aren’t the Geraniums Pretty, Professor?”

February 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

Inching into the month of February, everything consumer-based is turning pink and red. Cupid’s fat face can be seen in store windows, there’s a run on fuzzy lingerie, and chocolate candies abound. The only thing that’s turning pink and red for me is my fingers and face when I go outside in this horrible weather. So as a big salute to love potion infused arrows, fluttering wings and bare butts, I will proceed to jettison some of my old unmentionables.

Before you run away screaming, unmentionables are unmentionables for a reason. Full photos are sort of out of the question. I’m not that salacious. A fabric shot is all you’ll get.

But before you conclude that I’m bitter, bigoted or banal, I’ll have you know that I’m not the sort of girl who completely dismisses the doilies and red glitter. I’m currently munching on cinnamon heart candies and might even consider watching a romantic comedy later tonight. I just wonder sometimes if all of this hubbub is making most of the western world miserable? By continuously generating these grandiose gestures that include the phrases ‘be mine’ and ‘violets are blue’ maybe we’re desensitizing ourselves to what commitment actually means.

I’m not great at relationships but I  doubt Dr. Phil can even be considered a pro. But I don’t take cues, I can come off as unapproachable and hide my insecurity behind cynicism (can you tell?). To top it off, a friend told me recently that I’m generally confrontational and pretty stubborn. It’s true. I’d like to work on that this year. I’d hate to continue to repel potentially wonderful friends because of my bad habits.

So now that I’ve shared both my undies and my self-criticism, I think I’ve decided to curl up with a glass of wine and Jimmy Stewart, Katherine Hepburn and Carey Grant in A Philadelphia Story.

I hope you’re warm and cozy somewhere.

 

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Aren’t the Geraniums Pretty, Professor?” at jettison2011.

meta

