The Shades of Grey

February 3, 2011 § 1 Comment

Today, like most days this season, it was very grey. For me it was full of some ups and downs, lefts and rights and I can honestly say that after all of the rigorous emotional jolts I’ve had in the past 24-hours, I still have a huge smile on my face. It’s not because I’ve resolved every issue in my life or that I’m in the greatest place right now in any way, it’s merely because the journey is fun and feeling the highs and lows is something to be relished.

(Another unmentionable being discarded. It is what I would classify as a dark heather grey in shade)

Which brings me to my next almost completely unrelated point. But I swear I’m going somewhere with this. Billy Joel. You know, the piano man who tells us that only the good die young.

Confession: I’m not a big fan of Billy Joel. There may be a pointed reason for this. I saw the Broadway show “Movin’ Out” a few years ago and even though I was very impressed by the dancing, I can tell you very bluntly, there is such a thing as too much Billy Joel. However, when Billy is right, he’s right: “Shades of grey wherever I go/The more I find out the less that I know/Black and white is how it should be/But shades of grey are the colors I see.”

Billy is a simple guy. He wants life to be cut and dry. Oh, Billy. Embrace the greys for all of their ambiguity, their ability to make people uncomfortable, to create arguments, to create fervor in the lives of millions. How boring would life be without the greys?

I don’t know about you, but it’s the tough questions, the dichotomy of life that gets be out of bed in the morning–what a lovely challenge it is! The diversity of perception and perspective is something to be celebrated. It’s when people subscribe to the extremes that we begin to have true conflict and I mean that in all things–from politics and religion to dieting and work-ethic. What’s wrong with a little moderation?!

 

§ One Response to The Shades of Grey

  • starbear says:

    Shades of gray – “My love was like a dull gray line, he never changed was always ‘fine'” ~ me.
    Relationship ended. Boring. Dull. Disinterested.
    I love dove gray…. and also love COLOR. No plain gray unmentionables or mentionables, for that matter, in my closet.
    Yes, shades of gray can be a blend of black and white, and some insist on clear boundaries – it’s a gray area, to be contemplated in gray matter. 🙂 Well done!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Shades of Grey at jettison2011.

meta

