Not Even the Dark of Night

February 5, 2011 § 1 Comment

Sometimes we can jettison things that are unpleasant–things that should never see the light of day or the dark of night. I would love to give you something definite and definitive but unfortunately, in the next half hour, all I can commit to getting rid of is B.S. that pervaded the latter half of my day and the festering truth that inevitably came out. I’m not ready to utter it yet–not even to the people who know me best.

There are times when we can find it easy to stray from the well-planned path that we had for ourselves. Today, because of the weather and my mood, I diverged from the plan. I could see the doom of the moment encroaching–something I had specifically warded off for many stress-filled days and sleepless nights. And today, like a deer in the headlights, I stood stopped in the middle of another path, abandoning all my cares and sickeningly enthralled by the pain that awaited.

Because of this truth that I jettisoned/purged, I don’t expect the rest of my days to be the same ever again. Sometimes the truth deferred, rotten and putrid, is the worst possible thing to shed light upon.

§ One Response to Not Even the Dark of Night

  • Dedric says:

    Yet when we stare the horrible truth in the eye and stare it down, we can move past it and find a path leading towards a more desirable truth.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Not Even the Dark of Night at jettison2011.

meta

