Truth Chasing Ahab

February 10, 2011 § 1 Comment

I’ve been rather uninspired this week–not willing or ready to start filing through my closet like the jettison maniac I’ve been for the past month or so. Tonight, I get rid of a six-pack of harpoon bottle caps.

Honesty is the best policy. I’ve always known there was truth to that addage and tried to live with that in all aspects of my life. But when things are difficult to address, we often plunge the truth into the sea of our subconscious hoping for it to disappear. It’s naive for us to think that as the days, weeks and years blow by, we’re safer from the truth that we’ve shoved away. We’re often unaware of the havoc it has caused in other aspects of our lives, as the tides of our subconsciousness shift, sway and shutter. A mere disruption in our lives can bring the buried truths to the surface. It’s our job, like that of Melville’s Ahab to search for them and harpoon them in the hopes that they won’t be large enough to take us down to the depths of the darkest regions of our psyches with them.

I’ve speared some lost truths this week. And, I think, I have emerged from the depths sputtering, waterlogged and for the most part fine.

§ One Response to Truth Chasing Ahab

  • Claire says:

    I really love your post – I’m guilty of trying to push things away; but they always come back. I’m working hard to realise when things are continually coming back to me, to sort them so they don’t again.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Truth Chasing Ahab at jettison2011.

meta

