Broken Strands

February 12, 2011 § 1 Comment

I don’t remember where I obtained these beads but I’m sure I didn’t do anything incriminating to get them. Broken, they’re headed for the trash. But at one time they served a purpose–a token with which to celebrate.

The word ‘break’ has what seems to be endless connotations. Meaning “separate or cause to separate into pieces as a result of a blow, shock, or strain.” It can refer to a cut in the skin, to open forcibly, to sustain a fracture or even the use of a piece of paper currency to pay for something. It can also mean to “interrupt” or “fail to observe,” “to crush the emotional strength, spirit or resistance of.” All are heavy things to consider.

But in our western culture, everything has become disposable. I bought a vacuum cleaner the other weekend. It was only $40 but it came with a two-year warranty from the store that I bought it from. I was amazed to hear that if the vacuum breaks for whatever reason, I can send it back to the distributor and they’ll send me a new one for free. What ever happened to our concept of repair? What if it’s something minor? I can see those plastic parts in a landfill somewhere forever.

Guiltily, these beads will meet that fate.

§ One Response to Broken Strands

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Broken Strands at jettison2011.

meta

