“Damn Everything But the Circus”

February 15, 2011 § 1 Comment

As Corita Kent once famously said, “Damn everything but the circus.”

I really can’t help but agree with her. Of course, this lovely design wasn’t created by her talented hand. I got this shirt in 1997 during one of my elementary school’s spring fundraisers called May Madness and I believe it was designed by my art teacher. I haven’t the faintest idea as to why I was hanging onto this thing. I suppose it just reminded me of warm days of freedom, when the happy summer vacation stretched out before me, promising nothing but books, games and the always dependable trip to Chincoteague Island, Va. for boogie boarding, sand castles and homemade ice cream.

If you’ve had the misfortune of hearing the top 40 recently, I think Avril Lavigne is saying pretty much the same thing as Kent in “What the Hell” (though she probably doesn’t know it). That’s one thing that I think the circus, or namely, carnival has right–the human need to invert logical daily life once in a while, to put on a mask and be free of your responsibilities for a time. Yes, that’s right, I believe I’m referring to escapism. That said, carnival usually precedes a more important event, lent, providing sober reflection and balance.

But when it comes right down to it,  you have to side with Sister Kent once in a while.

§ One Response to “Damn Everything But the Circus”

  • Alexandra Cahill says:

    Hello there! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!Orangeburg Roofing & Painting, 512 Breezy Dr., Orangeburg, SC 29115 – (803) 566-8577

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Damn Everything But the Circus” at jettison2011.

meta

